Chancellor General Gerard Hector de Silva (Retired) RWP VSV USP ndc
Board of Management
The management and administration of the university is governed by a Board of Management that consists of the following members appointed by His Excellency the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.
Secretary, Ministry of Defence  General (Rtd) Kamal Gunaratne WWV RWP RSP USP ndc psc MPhil (Chairman)
Additional Secretary (Defence) Ministry of Defence Mr. PBSC Nonis
B.Sc. (Business Admin) SP. Hons,
Master of Public Administration, Australia, LICA
Commander of the Army Lieutenant General HLVM Liyanage RWP RSP ndu
Commander of the Navy Vice Admiral Nishantha Ulugetenne RSP & Bar, VSV, USP, ndc, psc, Mphil (D&SS), MA (DS), MMaritimePol, PG Dip in SM
Commander of the Air Force Air Marshal SK Pathirana WWV and Bar, RWP and Bar, RSP and 3 Bars, VSV, USP
Vice Chancellor, KDU Major General Milinda Peiris RWP RSP VSV USP ndc psc MPhil (Ind) PGDM 
UGC Representative Prof. Sampath Amaratunge BA (Hons.) in Economics (USJP), MA in Economics (Colombo), MSc. in Economics of Rural Development (Saga National University), Ph.D. (Kogoshima National University in Japan) Chairman – University Grants Commission
Treasury Representative Ms. JC Weligamage
Director General
Department of Public Finance
Ministry of Finance
Registrar – KDU (Secretary/Convener)
Mr. VD Kithsiri (Secretary/Convener)
E MBA (PIM – SJP), PGDM (SJP), BCom (Special) Hons, LICA & PI- CASL, Dip in English (Aquinas, SLIDA, ACHE)