Prize Giving Ceremony of the Annual Sports Meet – 2020

The Prize Giving Ceremony of the Annual Sports Meet General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University was ceremonially held on 14th September 2020 at the Basketball Court KDU.

Around 3000 military and civilian undergraduates divided in to 06 Squadrons named Gemunu, Gajaba, Perakum, Vijayaba, Mahasen and Walagamba competed in thirty-five different track and field events in this sports meet held on 13th and 14th March 2020 at Sugathadasa Stadium. However, the prize giving could not be conducted due to the restrictions imposed in the face of COVID 19.

The closing ceremony of the above Sports Meet was held in the evening 14th the September 2020. Major General MP Peiris, the Vice Chancellor of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. A large gathering of Senior Officer, Academic Staff and Students was present on this occasion.

New KDU records were established in the Annual Sports Meet – 2020 as mention below by:

5663 J/O/C HNK Caldera TripleJump (Men) 14.51m Parakum Squadron.

5891 J/L/O/C TKAGW Chathurangi Long Jump (Women) 5.44m Vijayaba Squadron.

5980 J/L/O/C PD Darmasiri 3000m (Women) Sec Gemunu Squadron.

5680 J/L/O/C PD Darmasiri 1500m (Women) Sec Gemunu Squadron

ENG/18//0066 ENRDZ Siriwardana 100m (Women) Sec Gemunu Squadron

LM/18/0066 ENRDZ Siriwardana 200m (Women) Sec Gajaba Squadron

ENG/18/0101 MTTT Thanthirimalage 100m Hurdle (Women) Sec Gemunu Squadron.

Out of the 06 Squadrons, Gajaba Squadron emerged the champions of the Annual Sports Meet – 2020 scoring 162 points. Mahasen squadron scoring 155 points and Vijayaba Squadron scoring 149 points became the 1st and the 2nd runners up respectively. 5663 J/O/C HNK Caldera and 5891 J/L/O/C TKAGW Chathurangi were adjudged the best male and female athletes of 2020.